Friday, December 31, 2010

Salon's Best Scenes of 2010
Nicely annotated for explanation if you haven't seen the films from which they were pulled.

Saturday, December 25, 2010

Merry Christmas!
(and happy 20th, www)

Thursday, December 16, 2010

What happens when an alligator bites an electric eel.

Tuesday, December 14, 2010

Wikileaks' Julian Assange, in his own words.

Monday, December 13, 2010

Japanese Multiplication Trick (via gizmodo)

Friday, December 10, 2010

Rare, Unusual, and Prototype HotWheels

Thursday, December 09, 2010

Woodcuts by Roman Klonek

Trailers from Hell!

Wednesday, December 08, 2010

In praise of Wikileaks (sfgate, op/ed)
So shame on Barack Obama, Eric Holder, and all those who spew platitudes about integrity, justice and accountability while allowing war criminals and torturers to walk freely upon the earth. ... the American people should be outraged that their government has transformed a nation with a reputation for freedom, justice, tolerance and respect for human rights into a backwater that revels in its criminality, cover-ups, injustices and hypocrisies.
Odd, isn't it, that it takes a Pravda commentator to drive home the point that the Obama administration is on the wrong side of history. Most of our own media are demanding that WikiLeaks leader Julian Assange be hunted down -- with some of the more bloodthirsty politicians calling for his murder. The corporate-and-government dominated media are apprehensive over the challenge that WikiLeaks presents. Perhaps deep down they know, as Dickens put it, "There is nothing so strong ... as the simple truth."

Meanwhile, Slate has interesting views on how Julian Assange's unrelated legal troubles, if perceived to be trumped-up or retaliatory, might help the movement's cause.

Tuesday, December 07, 2010

Tracing the Spark of Creative Problem-Solving (nytimes)
In a just completed study, researchers at Northwestern University found that people were more likely to solve word puzzles with sudden insight when they were amused, having just seen a short comedy routine.
Do the neat perception experiment.

Friday, December 03, 2010

Doodling in math class

Thursday, December 02, 2010

There's something both surreal and relaxing about this high-speed video shot from a moving train across a platform.

Wednesday, December 01, 2010

Deconstructing the Stones 'Gimme Shelter'